Town of Folsom
Hours of Operation:
Open weekends only, Memorial Day - Labor Day
10:00 A.M. - 5:00 PM
Winter: By appointment only
When the Denver, Texas and Ft. Worth Railroad was finished in 1888, the construction camp of Ragtown became Folsom in honor of Frances Folsom, who married President Cleveland in the White House.
The village thrived and had many businesses and residents until 1908, when a disastrous flood washed away most of the town. Sarah Rooke, the telephone operator, stayed at her switchboard warning people of the coming flood until her building was swept away. She was honored as a heroine. Seventeen people lost their lives and most of the businesses were never rebuilt.
Folsom Man Left His Mark
In the early 1900’s, George McJunkin, black foreman for the Crowfoot Ranch, discovered large bones in a dry arroyo. No one was interested until 1926, when scientists excavated and found 23 or more ancient Bison skeletons and 19 projectile points. Though George McJunkin didn’t live to see the importance of his discovery, it opened a new horizon in North America’s past. Later discoveries in other places confirmed the theory that man had occupied the New World longer than anthropologists supposed – at least 10,000 years. The points were unique, as they were worked twice on the edges and grooved down the center on each side. The point was named Folsom Point after the nearby town of Folsom. So far, no human bones of the Folsom Man have been found, but the point proves they were here many years ago.
The Folsom Museum, organized in April 1966 to preserve history and artifacts of the area, is housed in the historic Doherty Building, built in 1896 on the main street of Folsom. It is open daily from 10am-5pm Memorial Weekend through Labor Day Weekend, May-September: Weekends only, and Winter, by appointment only.